By Editor Edison – CalPatty Press Editor for Revenge of the Ghost Wolf

Pam Cutlip Seeking Election

I am seeking election as Magistrate of Division II.  I am the daughter of Fred Montgomery and the late Vonda “Pedro” Montgomery and am a life-long resident of Gilmer County.  I am married to Sam Cutlip and have two children:  Larry Frederick and Chrissy (Frederick) Junkins.

I graduated Gilmer County High School and then obtained my Associate of Science in Business Technology from Glenville State College in 2000. Since that time, I have acquired more than 15 years’ experience in the Gilmer County Clerk’s Office, Gilmer County Circuit Clerk’s Office and as Magistrate Assistant in the Gilmer County Magistrate’s Office.  Currently, I am serving as a temporary Magistrate Assistant in Harrison County, which I feel adds to my knowledge of the Magistrate position.

In addition to my employment, I have life experience that makes me the best choice for the role of Magistrate. As my mother, “Pedro” was the jailer for the Gilmer County jail from 1972 through 1989, our family lived in the jailhouse during these years. I witnessed the Judicial System in action, from the time the person was arrested, during their incarceration, and during their legal proceedings next door.  This experience provided me with knowledge of the law, but more importantly with the understanding of fairness and justice and the types of punishment needed for various crimes.

If I am elected Magistrate, I will adhere to the laws of the State of West Virginia, but will treat everyone with the fairness and civility they deserve. I am honest, educated, experienced and have the common sense to be your Magistrate.  If those are the qualities you seek in your Magistrate, then vote for me on May 10!

THIS is the official opinion of the Council of Concerned Citizens concerning the election of PAM CUTLIP

I have been reporting on local Gilmer County events for about a decade now. I speak with the Circuit Clerk nearly every day about court cases, and spend one dollar a page to get the documents needed to publish stories when necessary, so therefore go to some expense to get my facts straight. I also have developed a good rapport with Linda James,the magistrate clerk. If you want the facts to report accurately, these relationships are essential. LINDA James one day was not in, and I called to get some information about a story I was doing, and the above running for the election of magistrate answered the phone, was rude, DID NOT TREAT ME, a REPORTER with fairness and civility AT ALL. I was hung up on, and when I immediately called back the phone rang and rang and rang. I,without hesitation reported the matter to Jennifer Bundy of the West Virginia Supreme Court, and the matter was duly noted. This IS NOT a person, in my opinion,that we want in such a powerful position as magistrate. I felt I was honor bound and duty bound to let this matter be known. I welcome other opinions on this matter.

secretsevenwelldonebutsomermediumrare-2

A big change is in store for voters who head to the polls in May in Gilmer County.

The Primary Election, to be held on Tuesday, May 10, has traditionally been about political parties choosing their party nominees to face off in the November General Election.

For many offices this is still the case, but it is no longer true when it comes to the election of our judges from the State Supreme Court of Appeals to local magistrates.

As a result of changes in the state code enacted by the West Virginia Legislature last year, all judicial seats are now non-partisan. That is one big change in that it means that our judges will be elected in May as opposed to November.

Another change that resulted from the legislation is that circuit judges and magistrates will be elected by division. In Gilmer County one circuit judge will be elected from division one and one from division two. The same is true with magistrates, one will be elected in division one and another in division two.  A division is not a geographical district but is a position.

Traditionally multiple candidates might have run for these positions and the top vote getters from the group would be elected to the positions. This is no longer the case. With two circuit court divisions and two magistrate court divisions in Gilmer County the candidate with the top vote in each division will be elected.